A Snowshoeing Adventure for the Whole Family

Posted by Karly, Ziptivity’s South Shore Community Ambassador

So in continuation of last week’s nature hike at Borderland talk, which was awesome by the way!!  No poop, but lots of cool animal tracks… anyone ever hear of a vole?  I certainly hadn’t until last Saturday and apparently we have them native to our area.  But I digress.

So this week’s ZipPick is for Bass Pro Shop’s Snowshoeing Adventure behind their store in Foxborough.  At last Saturday’s hike I saw sooo many little feet in snowshoes!  Who would have thought they made them for tiny tots?!  I, for one, didn’t, but they do.  Yet another little tidbit of info I learned in my travels. That’s what makes this pick special:  the whole family can do it!  I guess you start out with snowshoes that don’t have grips and then move into a pair that does.  If you don’t have any, the Bass Pro Shop is the place for you and then you can go on out and try them!

This event starts at 10am and the hike is about a 1/2 mile.  Another little special thing about this event is that it takes you out behind the Bass Pro Shop and into the Ocean Spray bogs.  For those of you who know me, this is special because those are the bogs that will eventually send my kids to college… or maybe just give them extra money to buy a cute pair of shoes (regular shoes that is).  You see, my husband, the crazy engineer I spoke of last week, works for Ocean Spray.  Therefore the bogs are near and dear to my heart.  We actually had a big company outing back there and it was really neat.

At this time of the year the bogs are frozen over so you don’t see much, but the area behind the store is pretty cool and I bet it’s even better with all our “lovely” snow.  The activity is snow permitting and boy do we have snow… oh wait, isn’t it going to snow some more Saturday?  Yep!  You can’t go wrong because it’s s-no money at all – it’s FREE!  So go on out and enjoy what mother nature has so graciously given us… or at least try to make the best of her wrath!

Anyone still wondering what a vole is?  Check it out, wicked cute!

Leave a Reply

