Everwood Day Camp in Sharon has their Fingers on the Pulse of Children

Posted by Karly, Ziptivity’s South Shore Community Ambassador

Hit the panic button!! I have to be the expert about summer camps!  The summer is almost here?!  Well, summer camp registration is right around the corner and now is the time to check out the goods to help you make a decision.

I never went to camp – imagine that!  Hence, hitting the panic button.  I lived on Lake Massapoag and swimming lessons were my camp.  In all honesty, I couldn’t get on the waiting list soon enough to get into the “one” camp that “everyone” went to.  Well, now there are plenty of choices and they all have their own special qualities about them.  I’m not going to give away all my secrets just yet for all the South Shore camps that I will profile in the soon-to-be-published Special Camp Edition of ZipNews, but I will tell you about Everwood Day Camp in Sharon

This past week I went to an event that Everwood and Sharon’s Education Foundation hosted called Best Friends/Worst Enemies. They had a very animated speaker there who has been on Oprah, 20/20, and 60 minutes.   His name?  Dr. Michael Thompson.  I laughed, I cried, I was left wondering if he had time for a coffee (or chai tea latte in my case) with me so we could have more in depth conversation about kids and how to raise them!  Thanks to Everwood for having him there.  Apparently the founder, Scott Brody, of Everwood knows him very well and this brings me to my long winded point: Everwood is very connected to the way in which a child evolves.  It spoke volumes to me that this camp and this director has a pulse on what’s going on with the youth of today.

So my guess is that this camp has amazing activities and what better way to experience it than to go to the Open House this Sunday at 11am.  They will have will have games, crafts, an amazing magician, giveaways, a bouncy castle, snacks, drinks, and tours of Camp led by the Directors, Dane & Jaime Pickles! Oh and check out the amazing octagon Ga-Ga pit open for play outside!

Camp starts June 27th and ends August 26th.  It’s for ages 4-12 (finished 6th grade and going into 7th grade) and there are lots of tuition discounts for siblings, occupational (children of police, firefighters, teachers and deployed military and inactive military), and referrals.  Camp goes from 9am-4pm and extended day is an option from 7:30am-9am ($8 extra/day) and 4pm-6pm ($10 extra/day) or $14 combined.

Tuition varies, but it ranges from $1275-$3450 for a five day program of 3 weeks up to 9 weeks.  If you choose a 3 day program it ranges from $975-$2625 for 3 weeks up to 9 weeks.  Price includes round trip bus rides to and from camp (not including those who choose extended day), daily afternoon snacks and juice (Kosher options available), and BBQ lunch every Friday!

So swing by their Open House and check it out… after all, it’s a camp located on the lake I grew up on.  Funny that!

Editor’s Note:  Subsequent to the publishing of this post, Everwood Day Camp announced that Dr. Michael Thompson will be joining the Everwood Day Camp team as their Consulting Psychologist, and will assist with the training of their staff of counselors, teachers and coaches on a year-round basis.

Comments
One Response to “Everwood Day Camp in Sharon has their Fingers on the Pulse of Children”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] In case you missed my blog about the next camp, it’s a must read! […]



Leave a Reply

